Brickwick Convalescent Home
Tower Road, Coleshill, Nr Amersham, Bucks HP7 0LB
Medical dates:

Medical character:
1916 - 1919

In 1916 the Hospital Committee of the Samaritan Free Hospital for Women rented a row of three cottages called Brickwick for use as a convalescent home.  It was believed that the high elevation of the hamlet of Coleshill would be an exceptionally healthy place for convalescent patients and would help in wound recovery.

In 1919 the Convalescent Home moved to newly purchased premises, Wallers Oak, a short distance away.  Brickwick then was used briefly as a convalescent home for officers who had been wounded during WW1.

Present status (December 2011)

The three cottages have now been made into one house.
The southern aspect of Brickwick, with its garden and orchard of old varieties of fruit trees, is accessed by a rutted slope (slippery in winter).

The name on the gate.

The northern elevation of the house still boasts three doors.  The extension on the left was originally the kitchen during WW1 and contained a brick-built oven.

The peaceful view from the north side of the house, overlooking ploughed fields towards Amersham.
Most of the information on this Hospital was provided by the Coleshill History Group, and grateful acknowledgement is given to the Group for their help.

Oxford AW 1931 The History of the Samaritan Free Hospital. Cambridge, W. Heffers & Sons Ltd.

Return to alphabetical list
Return to home page